top of page

RIP Shane MacGowan

Singer-songwriter and front man of the fantastic Irish band The Pogues, Shane MacGowan, has died at the age of 65.



I first discovered The Pogues at my college radio station with the 1988 album, If I Should Fall From the Grace of God. It was like nothing I had heard before - a combo of punk rock and attitude with traditional Irish music. And at the center of it all was one of the most unique voices I had ever heard.


His lyrics and the songs they were built into drew attention to the tough lives of Irish emigrant life, especially in London. In tribute, Derry Girls actress Siobhán McSweeney said of MacGowan: “Shane was the voice of London for us Irish. When I was scared about moving here, he lured me over with songs about chancers, drinkers, lovers, poets and scoundrels.”


Best known for their song “Fairytale of New York”, The Pogues released seven albums between 1984 and 1996 including the fantastic Rum Sodomy & the Lash (produced by Elvis Costello) and the jazz-influenced Peace and Love.



Early on, MacGowan was influenced by bands like The Clash - He achieved early notoriety when a girlfriend cut his earlobe during an early Clash gig. Photos of MacGowan, with his head covered in blood, appeared in the press.


As lead songwriter for The Pogues, MacGowan was lauded as one of the best songwriters of the late 20th century. He was well read and despite his drunken delivery and sometimes incoherent singing, MacGowan’s songs were relatable to the working class and despite the stardom the band achieved in Ireland and London, they never forgot their roots.


It’s tough not to focus on the drugs and alcohol problems that plagued MacGowan throughout his life. It ended up affecting his performance (when he actually showed) and his relationships with the other band members. He was kicked out and bounced around to different bands before reuniting with The Pogues for a brief time.


In the end, MacGowan was a true original who lived for the poems and lyrics he wrote, the music he performed and the life that he chose to live. I found this quote from him that summarizes his life pretty well: “Cram as much pleasure as you can into life, and rail against the pain that you have to suffer as a result.”


“If I should fall from Grace with God

Where no doctor can relieve me

If I’m buried ‘neath the sod

But the angels won’t receive me


Let me go, boys

Let me go, boys

Let me go down in the mud

Where the rivers all run dry”


12 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page