top of page

I Now Pronounce You...

Earlier this month, my wife and I celebrated our 21st anniversary (We were married on August 3rd). It got me thinking about many things, including our first dance as a married couple.



We’ve all been to plenty of weddings and seen so many first dances. I love the personality behind each song and the dance that goes with it. Majority of the first dances are slow and loving songs. But I’ve seen plenty of dances to up-tempo songs that would have anyone’s toes tapping. So I set out to poll a number of you - What was your first dance song?


So let’s get to it. Enjoy my new mixtape “I Now Pronounce You…”.


We kick off with my wife and my first dance song - “I Could Not Ask For More” by Sara Evans. Originally performed by Edwin McCain, it was my wife who really introduced me to and got me into country music including Evans. Her album Born to Fly (where the song resides) is a fantastic album released in 2000 (two years before we were married).



One of the first weddings I ever went to (and was in as well) was for my friends Dave and Nancy. It was a beautiful wedding and the reception was a blast. The chose “The Sun and The Moon” by Go West for their first dance. It’s a beautiful song from 1992 and fun fact, Toto drummer Jeff Porcaro and the great saxophone player Kirk Whalum appear on the song.


Later on, we get to “I Believe In A Thing Called Love” by Scott Bradlee’s Postmodern Jukebox. The song was originally performed in a much different style by the band The Darkness. The cool cover is a boozy, jazzy version that sways beautifully. Perfect for my co-worker Jo and her husband Hunter.



I love the song “Flowers In The Window” by the band Travis - so did my Twitter friend Kevin. It’s a gorgeous song off of their third album The Invisible Band. It’s a hopeful love song with fantastic lyrics and a melody that bounces along complimenting Fran Healy’s lovely, lilting voice. Fun fact - Paul McCartney is an uncredited writer of the song. Lead singer Fran Healy met McCartney while recording the album and he loved the song so much, he helped finish the ending.



Closing out the playlist is a true classic by the wonderful Frank Sinatra, “The Way You Look Tonight”. Thanks to Lisa and Josh for using this song - it’s the perfect way to close out the mixtape playlist. Sinatra’s version with the Nelson Riddle Orchestra is classy and the best version of the song.



Yes you’re lovely, with your smile so warm

And you cheeks so soft

There is nothing for me but to love you

And the way you look tonight


There are more great songs on this mixtape - I want to thank those who sent me their songs. Feel free to add yours in the comments and I’ll add it to the playlist.

45 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page